Abortion, finally.

Hell, you knew it was coming at some point. I tried to avoid the tired topic that is abortion, but on a site like this, it almost feels like copping out.

To make this interesting however, we’re going to first look at this from a different angle, and somewhere in here, I’ll give you a straight up answer on where I stand. Thereby potentially losing half our viewership, but onward we go.

Today’s inspiration comes from two sources: the adorable Erin Burnett, and a frank discussion with Immanuel, who I have yet to find a suitable word for.

In a nutshell, a couple undergo an in-vitro fertilization procedure, and arrange to have the resulting embryo implanted in a surrogate mother. Few weeks into the pregnancy, they discover that the baby has severe birth defects and although she’ll survive, there’s “less than a 25% chance that she’ll be able to live a normal life”. Parents then want surrogate mom to abort. She refuses and flees the state. Story makes it to CNN.

Genetically, the baby belongs to the couple. They’ve also paid for this baby. However, she’s in surrogate mom’s belly.

Whose call is it to make the decision?

One could argue that hey, the couple are the biological parents and they paid for this kid. Should be their call.

Be that as it may, although many women who become surrogate moms do it partially for the pay off, it’s also a very gracious act  that gives most of them tremendous pride. Many wouldn’t sign up if a possible abortion was on the table. So that being said, in this case, I’m giving the decision to surrogate mom. Future couples can go ahead and put the abortion clause into their surrogacy contracts, and the women who are fine with that, can gladly sign up.

On to the case of abortions in general…

First, lets get the part about “when life begins” out of the way. This is ridiculous. Life begins at fertilization. Period. This stuff happens so fast that after just 3 days*, that first single cell, is now 32 cells. 60 days in and the baby’s no more than an inch long, but everything’s pretty much done. Heartbeat? Check. Brain? Yes. Even details like fingers, nipples and hair are already starting to emerge. From this point, it’s just a matter of continued growth and development.

So much for the current legal limits of 5-6 months.

The question then becomes ethical. If we’re going to “play God” and allow abortion at all, how far along is too far?

I think here’s a good spot for me to say that I’m pro-choice.

I’m reluctant to cap it at that 60 day mark because most women don’t even know they’re pregnant at this point, and a missed period or even two can be common, especially in younger girls.

…And, I get 90 days to return these new jeans at The BayTM

On one hand, there are rape victims who can’t fathom the thought of carrying and possibly raising the resulting child. Let alone the shame and ostracism from family and friends in some communities, even under the horrible circumstances. How about teens that know their parents may literally kill them if they ever came home pregnant.

On the other hand, I’m sure you’ve got some women who see abortion as a perfectly acceptable form of birth control.

Both of these situations need to change. We (guys included), need to be educated on all appropriate forms of birth control, and these need to be made accessible. Not to promote wild reckless sex, but to prevent the types of cases coming into abortion clinics each and every day.

Government aid programs need to be available and accessible to women who genuinely need it, not only to help the child, but so women understand that pregnancy isn’t a death sentence for their future ambitions.

Most importantly however, we need a major attitude check. Of course, certain behaviours may not be encouraged, but under no circumstances should a young woman feel that those closest to her won’t be there to support her should she ever need it, regardless of the situation.

See, I said I was pro-choice. If all those measures are in place, the choice of abortion should be hers and hers alone. Not pressured or swayed by any factors other than her own.

That is all.

And with that said, to those who’ve now vowed never to return to CDLS, thanks for rollin’ with us so far, we still love you 😛

*For those who will inevitably ask about Plan B, here you go.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Global Issues

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

17 Comments on “Abortion, finally.”

  1. March 6, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    One of the few topics where you and I are in full agreement. Nothing you say here I disagree with. Kudos.

  2. Viola
    March 9, 2013 at 4:11 am #

    Very well written here, Colin. 😀 I actually didn’t come across this case and I’m glad to read about it here…I like how your personality comes through in your writing… “to those who’ve now vowed never to return to CDLS, thanks for rollin’ with us so far, we still love you” love what you wrote here… I suppose I was stressed and feeling jaded when I wrote my post saying “I don’t care”. Not sure what kind of impact I had doing that–I do feel regret. I guess what’s done is done. I hope that the people reading my blog understand I have good intentions…no matter how much I sometimes feel like giving up. By the way, you both have great names–strong names…and when I say them out loud I find myself saying them in a British accent. 😉

    • March 14, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

      Lmao at the British accent part, that made my day!
      But yeah this isn’t school where teachers tell you what to write and how to write it. Be as free, open and honest as you want. I was definitely a little worried about losing people, but I really had to give my 2 cents on this one. Glad you liked it!

      • Viola
        March 15, 2013 at 12:12 am #

        😀 😀

  3. Leah
    March 15, 2013 at 2:52 am #

    “Hers and Hers alone. ” But what about the father of the child? Does he not get a say? Young kids, good relationship, condom breaks, preggo. Its both their child. Neither are at fault presay.

    • March 15, 2013 at 10:57 am #

      For sure the father does get a say. I don’t think Colin meant that he doesn’t at all (and if he did then he’s on his own). Personally I have always felt that the mother should have more of a say than the man. End of the day, its her body and she is the one who would have to go through with either nine months of pregnancy or having the abortion. While it should be a decision that’s made together ideally, what she wants should have more weight.
      I say 60-40.

      • March 17, 2013 at 12:34 am #

        Agree

        Thing is though, most of the young dads-to-be, aren’t trying to stick around.. If they were more supportive, I’m sure that would decrease the likelihood of mom wanting to abort

  4. lexiconcrush
    March 27, 2013 at 3:47 am #

    A major subject this one and, as you said, one that I assumed you’d be covering at some point.

    For me, it’s always (always!!) the woman’s choice. Forget about the “point where life begins” or when we start seeing a face, limbs etc. “We” as a society have outgrown our mandate to govern people by a matter of degrees. And an area such as thing, one so utterly personal that no area, regional or national authority could possibly account for it, demands that the woman have the choice.

    That’s not to say I’m a “fan” of abortion – the opposite is true in fact. I don’t think there is anyone, even in the pro-choice camp, that “likes” abortion. The rhyme should go; First comes love, then comes a load of condoms, then comes sex, then comes a stable relationship ready to raise a child, then come baby in a baby carriage!”

    Abortion should always be the last resort after everything else has been tried – including offering the mother monetary and educational support for the child if she chooses to go ahead with it.

    But even with that said, it’s the woman’s choice. We have no right to dictate terms to anyone on this subject…

    • March 29, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

      Agree, and I like that you made this part exceptionally clear : “I don’t think there is anyone, even in the pro-choice camp, that “likes” abortion.”

      Truth is, if you put all those measures in place, you’d see such a dramatic reduction in abortions that you could then look at those cases individually and go from there.

      ps. You should publish that rhyme. Love it lol

  5. March 27, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    I agree with you that abortion should be the absolute last resort. I believe promotion of safe sex practices can minimize unwanted pregnancies and STD. I think the problem is with those kids who are taught about abstinence as the best method to prevent it from happening. I agree with the sentiment, but some teens will indulge in risky behavior. So, better teach them safe sex practices. I am also pro-choice but I was born in a country where sex selective abortions happen frequently. Abortion definitely can impact society in a very negative way. Now, In India, men outnumber girls in all the northern states and there is an increase of violence toward women. On the flip side, there is a preference of girls in western countries and they might outnumber men. Those women will struggle to find a partner. Abortion should definitely be used for the absolute worst scenario and people need to be more aware of the larger impact they will make based on their choice. .Informed choice should be the key.

    • March 29, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

      “I think the problem is with those kids who are taught about abstinence as the best method to prevent it from happening.” Wow, didn’t even think of that. Great, great point.

      I feel for parents though because you definitely don’t want you child having sex at a young age, but then you feel like you’re almost planting the seed by educating them about safe sex.

      “Don’t do this!!! But, if you do…. Here’s how it’s done”

      Not sure what the best path is there, but what you’re saying is definitely true

  6. July 18, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    hi puppy dog enthusiasts,

    you may love my own youtube puppy online video
    enjoy it!

  7. August 6, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    Howdy are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own
    blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  8. August 6, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    This paragraph gives clear idea designed for the new visitors of blogging, that truly how to do
    blogging and site-building.

  9. March 20, 2016 at 11:12 pm #

    That is a great tip particularly to those new to the
    blogosphere. Short but very accurate info… Appreciate your sharing this one.

    A must read post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Unified Theory of Life (Read: Women) | Caffeine Dreams | Liquor Schemes - March 13, 2013

    […] Last week was a great one for CDLS, got some good numbers and minimal backlash from what were some pretty hot button topics. […]

  2. Finding Truth on the Internet | Caffeine Dreams | Liquor Schemes - April 1, 2013

    […] of many popular websites, including Google, the search results I’ll get for something like abortion might look very different from what someone in the southern states might get. A search about North […]

Say something!