On the Papal Office, Catholicism and Religion in General

So Colin posts about abortion and I’m tackling religion. It seems we’re both breaking our own rules today. I don’t talk about religion as a rule because these conversations never seem to go well. I see no point in these conversations in general. However today, I’m crossing that line.

Pope Benedict XVI (now Pope Emeritus) stepped down from Papal Office last week. He is the first pope to resign from the position since Gregory XII in 1415. Although its not unprecedented for a pope to resign, it is a rare event. So the announcement was met with quite a fair amount of shock. To be honest though, I don’t actually care about the reasons behind his resignation. That’s not what I’m discussing today.

I did not like Benedict XVI.

I don’t mean personally. I’m sure he’s a great person to talk to or spend time with (I hope). I just didn’t like him as pope. As a Catholic, I felt he was too conservative and too traditional. His actions and statements during his tenure as Pope more than showed this facet of himself. And while there is nothing inherently wrong with upholding traditional values, I just felt that it was a regression to what his predecessor, John Paul II, had done.

Although it could be argued that John Paul II was just as conservative as his successor, he did make considerable towards integrating traditional Catholicism with modern day society. Actually scratch out considerable and I’ll say “some strides”.

My chief criticism of both John Paul II and Benedict XVI, was their handling of the many sex abuse scandals rife throughout the Church. A politic way to describe their handling of these situations would be “sweeping it under the rug”. I can’t understand why stronger sanctions and punishments have not been put in place to deal with this problem. The Church has been incredibly lax when it comes to that.

This isn’t however my main problem with the Church. In fact, I have the same issue with pretty much all the other major religions.

I’m a firm believer in the creed that everything has to adapt to survive. Animals, plants, societies and belief systems are not exempt from this. The world is not the same place it was in 4,000 BC (not a significant date) and its not the same place it was in 1666 (again, another random year). Our thoughts, fears and superstitions are a lot different now than they were before. What may have been applicable and understood in that society in that time period, does not necessarily translate to this day and age. While humanity and society have mostly evolved and changed, religion has remained stagnant. Religion does not exist in a vacuum; it should evolve and change along the same lines as society.

(Short disclaimer: I am not in any way saying that the path society and humanity are evolving along, is the right way.)

I believe that for Catholicism, or any other religion for that matter, to remain relevant in society, it has to keep itself relevant. While some thoughts and traditions are in fact timeless, there are some things that need to be let go. The Church’s continued opposition against contraception and gay rights is bordering on the incredulous. Do I necessarily agree with abortion? I’m not going to categorically state either way, but I do believe that women should have the option if they so choose. And as far as I’m concerned, the LGBT community are just people with different preferences than my own, and they shouldn’t be looked down as if they are somehow lesser than me or others.

Long story short, the Catholic Church needs to undertake some serious reforms and look at becoming more progressive. And I think most other religions can do with more progressive thinking as well.

But hey, this is just one (incredibly lapsed) Catholic’s view.

I’ll be patiently awaiting the white smoke to see the new Pope and what path he’ll follow.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Global Issues

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “On the Papal Office, Catholicism and Religion in General”

  1. March 6, 2013 at 5:44 am #

    Benedict XVI reminds me of the Queen man. Comes out, smiles, waves, looks pretty. But doesn’t actually say sh*t. That bugs me. The leader of anything needs to do just that. Lead. It’s okay you’re the type of person who wants to have a good think before saying something publicly, and with that much power/influence, you definitely should. But eventually, you need to come out and lead the flock.

    Next Pope needs to be a dude with balls and a functional voice box.

    • March 6, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

      Nah it’s a good thing Benedict XVI didn’t say too much. Invariably when he opened his mouth to comment, he would put his foot in his mouth and offend somebody. He definitely not a spokesperson.
      The next guy (actually why can’t we have a female pope? I would be interested in seeing that) however does need to lead. Or at least be as public a figure as John Paul II was.

      • March 8, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

        Wooooh a female pope buddy!! Recklessssss 😀

      • March 8, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

        If I ever get around to writing another post on Catholicism, I’m going to be talking about women in the Church.

  2. Viola
    March 9, 2013 at 3:57 am #

    Very insightful article you’ve written. 😀 Religion must be progressive to keep itself relevant, I absolutely agree with you. I love what you say about not categorically stating either way whether or not you agree with abortion. I think people tend to get lost in labels…it’s something that causes distortion in people’s perspective–getting caught up in those categories; it seems to make them lose track of their focus on issues and they often get lost in black and white thinking (even if their hearts are in the right place)…they lean to one extreme or the other because of this distortion…and ignore all the shades in between.

    • March 9, 2013 at 4:13 am #

      You have hit the nail on the head right there. Especially with abortion, people look at it as if you either approve of it and are completely pro-choice, or you disapprove of it and you’re pro-life. What about those may disapprove of it but are pro-choice?
      We tend to think that there are only two stances or ways of looking at things but that’s nowhere near the case.
      Glad you enjoyed the article btw. I have read some of your posts and I really like your style of writing. It’s visceral.

  3. Viola
    March 9, 2013 at 4:16 am #

    Thank you, dear. 😉

  4. Bethany
    March 23, 2013 at 4:19 am #

    Immy that’s a great article and really taught me a lot. I like how you write about religion in a way that makes it interesting and I’m interested in what else you write about it because I’m so ignorant with it and need to learn more about it and not just the most commonly spoken of religions in the society I live in. Please enlighten me 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Waiting things out… | Living with PMD - March 12, 2013

    […] much here and ramble on.  (By the way, I’d like to thank a fellow blogger for providing me some of the proper choice of words for this […]

  2. The Unified Theory of Life (Read: Women) | Caffeine Dreams | Liquor Schemes - March 13, 2013

    […] Last week was a great one for CDLS, got some good numbers and minimal backlash from what were some pretty hot button topics. […]

Say something!